In Chapter 56A of the New Jersey Statutes, the Legislature provided the ability of municipalities to create an environmental commission, which South Orange did in 1999. It consists of between 5 and 8 members appointed by the mayor, with terms between 1-3 years. The first commissioner was John Thonet, followed by Janine Bauer, the current commissioner. Continue reading